AUS: 1300 630 488    NZ: 0800 1477 6287

Hobart Macquarie visits the Tasmania Fire Museum

Recently members of Hobart Macquarie Probus Club visited the Hobart Campus of the Tasmania Fire Museum where they enjoyed conducted tours by retired Firemen and Officers.

The Hobart Campus Collection is housed and displayed in the historic Hobart Fire Station, which was progressively constructed in 1892, 1911, 1925 & 1951 and remains an impressive building today in the City of Hobart.

They viewed and learned much about the many and varied restored Fire Engines, Appliances and Equipment, some dating from 19th Century and some recently retired from service. This collection included unique vehicles which were used at the Electrolytic Zinc Company at Risdon and Cadbury’s Chocolate Factory at Claremont.


The “boys” of Hobart Macquarie had a great time amongst the real Fire Engines.

The included photos show the groups amongst the Fire Engines and Appliances in the old Hobart Fire Station.